Woman-Centered Genealogy

Before Women’s History Month ends, please let me remind you that I believe the Family Forest® Project is the most woman-centered genealogy resource available, intentionally by design. 

There was a telling scene in the excellent Faces of America program where Meryl Streep tells Prof. Henry Louis Gates, Jr. that basically, she is not nearly as interested in the lives of her male ancestors as she is in the women who stood with them. 

Wow, that sums up the direction I have been steering the Family Forest® Project in for 15 years. Wouldn’t cousin Meryl be the perfect celebrity spokesperson we need? 

Countless choices appear before me each day as I perform my tour-guide service to of strategically growing the amazingly interconnected digital system of links we call the Family Forest®. I spend my days journeying through the nooks and crannies of thousands of years of human history and I leave a well-marked trail of everywhere I visit. The problem is that time does not allow me to enter nearly as much as I see. 

So when faced with decisions about the most important parts I should tell you about, I have almost always chosen to follow the lines of the mothers and daughters. This deliberate intention consistently applied over the last 15 years has grown the Family Forest® into the most woman-centered genealogy resource available. 

A number of examples of Family Forest® woman-centered genealogy can be downloaded free. They include some well-known and currently topical women such as Amelia Earhart, Julia Child, Sarah Jessica Parker, Meryl Streep, Brooke Shields, and Sarah Palin.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ancestral History, Family Forest, Family Forest National Treasure, Family Forest® Project, Genealogy, Meryl Streep, Sarah Jessica Parker, Sarah Palin, Who Do You Think You Are, Women's History Month

Leave a Reply

